Playing catch up

It’s been a while since I used this as a forum for self-expression and I feel compelled to start out by quoting a man who was clearly ahead of his time, Mr. Ferris Bueller.

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

It’s true. We live in a world where it’s all about getting ahead, moving forward and never settling. It’s easy to loose sight of the present and to remember to take the time to commend yourself on where you have come and what brought you to this moment.

It’s been an incredible year of growth both personally and professionally, and even though I am now an editor for a different blog I have been completely neglecting my own.

As a writer you learn to mold your voice for different audiences, but I think to be a true writer you have to learn to revisit your own voice from time to time. It’s hard to believe it’s been five years since I moved to Summit County as a fresh-faced college grad and, while I am still light years away from having it all figured out, I have arrived at a place of balance on the brink of my 27th year on this planet.

While this site will now feature most of my work for The Breck Connection I’m hoping I still remember the importance of documenting my own voice every once in a while.

Feels good to be back on here.

Taking in an evening view with Makazi, our new trusty canine companion
Photo credit: Shaun Smith

Leave a Reply

